All fifty states now have concealed carry laws, but each state has its own rules and restrictions for issuing permits.  Utah, Florida, and Arizona have reciprocity agreements with the most states, so with these three permits PLUS Illinois in your pocket, you can legally carry in about 35 states. Reciprocity between states does change, so always check the current coverage map and more information on this web site: HANDGUNLAW.US before you plan a trip.

GAT TRAINING has an 8 hour class so you can obtain your CCW permit for Utah, Florida, and Arizona. These permits are available to non-residents of these three states.

There is one 8 hour class involved – UTAH-FLORIDA-ARIZONA. This class is held one day per month so you can get the training for all three permits in one day. With UTAH and FLORIDA together you will get 8-hours credit towards an ILLINOIS permit.

The fee for the UTAH-FLORIDA-ARIZONA class is $125.00. Florida requires you show proficiency with a firearm, so you must bring a firearm and ammunition to class if you will be applying for the Florida permit. (It can be rented at GAT GUNS for an additional fee.)

You can register on-line on the TRAINING CALENDAR PAGE and pay by credit card.

There are additional costs required for ID photos and fingerprint cards.  You can pay for these items in the store on the day of the class.

The ID photos are priced at $8.00 each. (FL & UT require 1 photo each)

Fingerprint cards are $15.00 each. 

You must be 21 or older. No FOID CARD is required for the course, as these permits are not valid in Illinois.

Completing the classes will entitle you to an application which is signed off by the instructor. You will also receive an 8×10 certificate of completion. 

For more information, please call at 847-428-4867.

The Instructors are NRA certified and also certified by the states of Utah, Florida, and Arizona to teach the CCW classes.


These states require that applicants attend a four hour course taught by an instructor certified by the state. The course covers handgun safety, ethical concerns, and state laws pertaining to the CCW permit.  Upon completion of the course, students receive a certificate certifying that they attended the course and a packet from each state with the forms necessary to apply for the permits.

Each state has its own list of items to submit for application for the permit.  These items will be covered in the class as are the application costs.

Examples are:

  • Training certificate
  • The completed application
  • One or more passport photo
  • One or more Fingerprint card
  • Copy of driver’s license or state ID card
  • A check or money order for the registration fees

You do not have to shoot for the Utah and Arizona permits.

What to bring to the Florida class – Bring your handgun, ammo and range gear.

When utilizing your UTAH, FLORIDA, or ARIZONA CCW permit to carry in another state be aware that it is up to the permit holder to obey all of the local laws that regulate firearms possession in that state.

These states do not tie a specific firearm to the permit. You are allowed to carry the firearm of your choice.  All three are SHALL ISSUE states – meaning that after completing the course and submitting the application with the appropriate fees and passing the background check, the state will issue the permit.

  1. Store Hours:
  2. Monday - Friday: 9:00 am - 9:00 pm
  3. Saturday: 8:00 am - 6:00 pm
  4. Sunday: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Note: The Ranges Close 1/2 Hour Before The Store Closes

Holiday Hours:

  • New Years Eve - 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
  • New Years Day - 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
  • Easter - CLOSED
  • Memorial Day - 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
  • 4th of July - 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
  • Labor Day - 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
  • Thanksgiving - CLOSED
  • Christmas Eve - 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
  • Christmas Day - CLOSED

GAT Guns Training accepts Credit Cards.